Desktop Schools Popup

Select a School

Twelve District 196 seniors named National Merit finalists

The 12 District 196 seniors selected semifinalists in the 2020-21 National Merit Scholarship Program last fall were all named finalists and are eligible for one of the approximately 7,600 merit scholarships totaling more than $30 million awarded this spring.

The National Merit finalists from District 196 are:

  • Amy Monsen of Apple Valley High School;
  • Ryan Diaz, Ryan Madigan, Morgan Madsen, Colin Roberts and Samyak Tiwari of Eagan High School;
  • Carter Henning, Thor Reimann and Anne Warren of Eastview High School, and
  • Anika Jackson, Alexander Owens and Jake Zimmer of Rosemount High School.

Post-secondary scholarships are awarded by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation, businesses, and colleges and universities nationwide.

Students are selected for the National Merit Scholarship and Achievement programs each fall based on their scores on the Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude Test/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT), which they take as juniors.

Approximately 1.5 million students at 21,000 U.S. high schools took the qualifying test last school year. Students who score in the top 1 percent nationwide are selected semifinalists and can submit additional information to become a finalist. Students who score in the top 5 percent of students nationally are named commended students; 44 District 196 students earned commended status in this year’s National Merit program. 

Six of the 12 merit finalists, photo 1
Six of the 12 merit finalists, photo 2