Desktop Schools Popup

Select a School

Forty-five seniors recognized in National Merit and College Board programs

ROSEMOUNT, Minn. – Forty-five District 196 seniors are receiving special recognition this fall for scores they achieved on a national standardized test taken last year as juniors.

Sixteen of the 45 students are semifinalists in the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program, 26 are National Merit commended students, and three were selected for the National Hispanic Recognition Program. The 16 National Merit semifinalists from District 196 are:

  • Christina Monsen of Apple Valley High School;
  • Luke Anderson, Jacob Berran and Joseph Rollie of Eagan High School;
  • Sanat Iyer, Ian Kenney, Benjamin Kupinski, Jiayang Tang, Rohan Vij and Margaret Wang of Eastview High School, and
  • Cecilia Ellis, Regan Hansen, Charles Huang, Tanner Morrison, Ryan Niedenthal and Akash Shiri of Rosemount High School.

Students are selected for recognition in the National Merit Scholarship Program based on their scores on the Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude Test/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT), which they take as juniors. Semifinalists rank in the top 1 percent of the more than 1.5 million juniors at 21,000 U.S. high schools who took the test last year. The semifinalists may submit additional information to be considered for selection as a finalist. Students named National Merit finalists next spring will compete for some 7,600 scholarships totaling more than $31 million awarded by businesses, colleges and universities, and the National Merit Scholarship Corporation.

Students whose scores on the PSAT/NMSQT rank them in the top 5 percent of students nationwide receive letters of commendation in recognition of their outstanding academic promise. In District 196, the following 26 seniors are 2020 National Merit commended students:

  • Nichole Stevens of Apple Valley High;
  • Lily Bensen, Christine DeMarchis, Olivia Dykes, Victoria James, Olivia Johnson, Lia Lemieux,  Natalie Merrill, Tatiana Pereda and Logan Pfaltzgraff of Eagan High;
  • Megan Beyer, Madison Bisek, Annalise Chapdelaine, Zachary Clifford, Harita Duggirala, Anish Dulla, Nikhil Kapur, Eva Lundgreen, Kyra O'Malley, Matthew Rajala, Sophia Sahota, Anushri Tiwari and Brendan Wilhelm of Eastview High, and
  • Heba Abuad, Brenna Buck, and Annelise Wier of Rosemount High.

The College Board also uses PSAT scores to recognize Black and Hispanic students. Rachael Barela, Anna Gonzalez and Darby O’Leary of Rosemount High School were selected for the 2020 National Hispanic Recognition Program. They, along with the National Merit semifinalists and commended students, will be recognized at the Oct. 28 School Board meeting in District 196.