Desktop Schools Popup

Select a School

District 196 voters re-elect three incumbents in filling four open board seats
District 196 voters re-elect three incumbents in filling four open board seats

Voters in Independent School District 196 elected incumbents Jackie Magnuson, Cory Johnson and Sachin Isaacs, and candidate Anna Williams to fill four open seats in the Nov. 7 School Board election. 

Magnuson, a Rosemount resident and current board treasurer, received 12,864 votes to lead all candidates and win election to her 10th term on the School Board. Unofficial results on the Secretary of State website also show that Johnson, an Eagan resident and current chairperson, received 12,734 votes to win a second term; Isaacs, a Burnsville resident and current vice chairperson, received 12,354 votes to win a third term, and Williams, an Eagan resident, received 12,103 votes to win the fourth open seat and her first term on the board. Current board member Joel Albright did not seek re-election this year after serving the last 20 years on the board.

Twelve names appeared on the ballot. The other eight candidates who received votes, in order of finish, are: Kim Bauer, 7,185 votes; Melissa Field, 7,159 votes; Lori Urkiel, 6,898 votes; Teressa Schlueter, 6,766 votes; Craig Angrimson, 1,970 votes; Charles McCready, 831 votes; Leah Gardner, 710 votes, and Gina Swaney, 520 votes. There were also 150 write-in votes. McCready and Gardner unofficially withdrew from the race, but after the deadline to not have their names on the ballot.  

The newly elected candidates' four-year terms begin Jan. 1, 2024. On Jan. 8, they will take the oath of office and the board will elect officers as part of its annual organization meeting, which will begin at 6 p.m. at Dakota Ridge School in Apple Valley.

There were 105,881 registered voters in District 196 on Election Day morning and 21,911 voters cast ballots in the School Board election, representing approximately 20.7% of registered voters.