Desktop Schools Popup

Select a School

District 196 communities are among lowest taxed large cities in Minnesota

Of the 31 Minnesota cities with populations of 30,000 or greater in 2019, the four with the lowest tax rates are all District 196 communities and a fifth is in the lowest 10.

According to fiscal year 2019 county net tax capacity reports for Minnesota counties with at least one city of 30,000 residents or more, the 10 cities with the lowest tax rates are (District 196 communities in bold): 1. Eagan(lowest); 2. Apple Valley; 3. Lakeville; 4. Burnsville; 5. Woodbury; 6. Plymouth; 7. Edina; 8. Mankato; 9. Cottage Grove, and 10. Inver Grove Heights. Rates include total taxes (county, city and school district) for residential and commercial property.

The other two cities in District 196, Rosemount and Coates, do not have 30,000 population.